top of page
  • Writer's pictureMann Clan

Gestational Diabetes

One red drink. Four blood draws. Three hours. Fail.


Once again I have been diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes. If you didn't know, I was diagnosed with GD at 28 weeks when I was pregnant with Claire; yesterday I failed the 3 hour test with baby #2 at 17 weeks. I was hoping I wouldn't have to deal with this quite this early, but I survived with my first pregnancy, so I know I'll make it through again.

Gestational Diabetes is a condition in which your blood sugar levels become high during pregnancy. It affects up to 10% of women who are pregnant in the U.S. each year. When you eat, your pancreas releases insulin, a hormone that helps move a sugar called glucose from your blood to your cells, which use it for energy. During pregnancy, your placenta makes hormones that cause glucose to build up in your blood. Usually, your pancreas can send out enough insulin to handle it. But if your body can’t make enough insulin or stops using insulin like it should, your blood sugar levels rise, and you get gestational diabetes.


I know it's very emotional to get this diagnosis.

Gestational Diabetes wasn't even on my radar.

I was devastated when I got my first diagnosis of Gestational Diabetes while pregnant with Claire. There are so many tests you take during a pregnancy, and if you're like me, you just assume everything will be fine. I honestly didn't even know what Gestational Diabetes was; so when I received that phone call telling me I failed, I lost it. I didn't fit the typical criteria and my OB was shocked I got it. I cried (ok I bawled) and felt like it was all my fault - even though I was repeatedly told "this isn't your fault."


I kept my GD a secret from everyone except my husband, my parents and my in-laws. It wasn't until after I had Claire and was all clear,

I realized how much better I would have felt if I would have talked about it - if I had reached out and shared what I was going through.

My husband is a science teacher, but he actually went to Iowa State and studied Nutrition and Dietetics. He realized that wasn't what he wanted to do and went back to school to get his masters in education, but now he could help me understand GD and put that knowledge to use! He was a huge help instructionally and emotionally, and helped me realize that this was actually a blessing in disguise. I ate healthier and I had a very healthy baby.


Getting any type of diagnosis during pregnancy is hard – I know I felt like it was the end of the world when I found out I had GD - and I'm not excited to have it again (and earlier). However, learning all you can about your condition, getting appropriate medical care, and taking care of yourself can make a world of difference.


No one wants Gestational Diabetes, but you might as well make the best of it.

It will be okay. Pregnancy is hard. And getting a diagnosis of Gestational Diabetes is difficult. But it will be okay.

Follow this throughout my pregnancy to see meal and snack ideas, what to expect, and hopefully a little bit of hope.



74 views0 comments
bottom of page